Pensées* and the blog name

I have decided to blog again. I have written in the past with the church family in mind and in order to communicate them, but I thought this time around I would make this a site for personal reflection. I usually think better when I write down my ideas; it brings cblaise-pascallarity and precision.

I named the site Penséees…well, more like Fragments, because of my love for Blaise Pascal and his unfinished work; however, I knew that my entries would be random thoughts that would need fleshing out, thus, “fragments.”

So, in honor of Pascal, here are some of his notes:

“133 Diversion. Being unable to cure death, wretchedness and ignorance, men have decided, in order to be happy, not to think about such things.”

“173. If we submit everything to reason our religion will be left with nothing mysterious or supernatural. If we offend the principles of reason our religion will be absurd and ridiculous.”

“192. Knowing God without knowing our own wretchedness makes for pride. Knowing our own wretchedness without knowing God makes for despair. Knowing Jesus Christ strikes the balance because he shows us both God and our own wretchedness.”

*Pensées means “thoughts” in French. This is the title to Blaise Pascal’s posthumously published collection of unfinished notes he had put together as a defense of Christianity.

2 thoughts on “Pensées* and the blog name

    • And that is not what we’re doing at all. It’s reason within the bounds of religion – Faith seeking understanding and not giving up reason. Thanks, Roger.

Leave a Reply

